#COVIDcervixchat – Highlights from our April 28 Twitter Chat

The COVID-19 pandemic is changing the way that sexual and reproductive health (SRH) services, including cervical cancer (cxca) prevention, are delivered. Program planners and healthcare workers must work to update and innovate in the delivery of these services if they are to be sustained during the pandemic.

On Tuesday, April 28th, TogetHER for Health hosted a twitter chat to bring our community together to discuss the implications of COVID-19 on our work, and the steps we can take today to protect women’s lives. We were joined by voices from across the globe, including a great group of expert voices including:

The chat started by exploring the implications of COVID-19 on sexual & reproductive health, including cervical cancer prevention. The very real threat to women & girls’ lives, and the potential to lose hard won global gains, underscored the need to continue delivering services. The chat explored how to do so ethically, including which services to offer and how. Infection prevention & control within clinics, as well as opportunities for mHealth and self-care technologies were explored. Lastly, the chat also considered the critical role communities can play in protecting access to SRH services.

Check out our summary of the chat highlights here!

And be sure to join our upcoming webinar, “Addressing Cervical Cancer Care & Sexual Reproductive Health Services during COVID-19” on Wednesday May 13th at 10am EST / 2pm GMT / 5pm EAT. Co-hosted by TogetHER and colleagues from the International Gynecologic Cancer Society, the webinar will explore how frontline service providers are responding to the challenges of COVID-19 to adapt cervical cancer care and sexual and reproductive health services to meet patient and community needs during this challenging time. 

Registration required! Please register here!